Doctor Who? You mean Dr. View.

So there was this guy on one of the dating sites I’m on who, if you squint really hard, kind of looks like a certain Time Lord we all know and love.

I know this because he has viewed my profile. A lot. And, I’ve viewed him. A lot.

I can’t remember which one of us initiated the weird back and forth. I just know it goes on.

Here’s how it goes… I’m browsing the visitors to my profile or the activity feed, and I see his picture. “Oh, that guy looks interesting,” I think as I click on his profile. Something interrupts me or puts me off about the profile and I don’t write him… It might be that he seems put out about looking like The Doctor. If I was a guy, I’d milk that for all it was worth.

Anyway, some days or weeks later, he sees that I have been looking at him and views me. Then the cycle repeats. The cycle repeats over and over and over…

Finally, I got tired and sent him a message. He didn’t reply, which is fine. He’s not interested.

It would have ended there, but I then I signed up for a paid account (you can read about in my last blog).

He had “liked” me. He had “liked” me the day I sent him an email.

I was left scratching my head… so I “liked” him back. Two can play at this weird game!

I was contemplating writing him a second message when he deleted his profile.
I’ve had to make peace with the not-so-quite-lookalike. I’ve made up a ton of excuses for his behavior. He was on the other side of the country and was giving me a pity like, he was only looking for subscribers to his YouTube channel, he was so jaded by the influx of women who thought he looked like Doctor Who he had to go into hiding, or…

A gang of bank robbers took him hostage. The cops gave chase. They got away, but he caused a crash. When he came to, he’d lost his memory. An ex-con picked him up… mistook him for a fugitive and shipped him to Istanbul. There he met some Afghan raiders who took him to steal some Russian warheads. But their truck hit a mine in Tajikistan. He survived, took to the hills and became a Mujaheddin. Amelie refuses to get upset for a guy who’ll eat borscht all his life in a hat like a tea cozy.*

 

*Yeah, that’s straight from Amelie. It fits.

One thought on “Doctor Who? You mean Dr. View.

Leave a Reply

