Dates are like…

After writing that I had no prospects in my future last week, I landed not one but two dates. After months of not dating, I was feeling puh-ret-ty good.

Then they both cancelled.

I thought it was kind of funny, but everyone I’ve told has given me a kind of sad knowing look that says “you poor thing”.

Honestly, it’s no sweat off my back as dating can be kind of scary. Not in a this-guy-might-use-my-skin-as-a-suit kind of way, but more of an I-can’t-think-of-anything-to-say-awkward-pause scary.

I’ve started conversations with open-ended questions like “tell me a little about yourself”, and been shut down with “not much to tell”.

Uhhhhh…

If you don’t want to talk about yourself, you need to think of a first date that somehow prevents that like zip-lining. Otherwise, you shouldn’t be dating.

Dating is like going to a job interview, you need to sell yourself to your potential. It is anxiety inducing, and all sorts of things can go wrong. If you act like you don’t want the job (or even like yourself), I’m not hiring you.

And it’s a team effort.

We should both be making the attempting to put the other person at ease. If you can’t think of something to say, I’ll try to come up with a conversation piece or a random story. And vice-versa.

So, instead of being a girl who can’t get a date, I’m happy I don’t have to go on job interviews with people who don’t even really want to hire me. It saves me a lot of trouble.

3 thoughts on “Dates are like…

Leave a Reply

